September 9, 2015
Proposed design for Polhemus Memorial approved by LPC
Our proposed renovations to the Polhemus Memorial clinic have been unanimously approved by the Landmarks Preservation Commission! Constructed in 1896-1897, the Beaux-Arts building is located in the Cobble Hill Historic District Extension. The building first served as the home of a hybrid hospital and medical school, founded by Caroline Herriman Polhemus in honor of her late husband. At the time, it was considered a towering medical facility because of the building’s unique 8-story height.
BKSK will be leading the transformation of the brick and limestone building into a 17-unit residential project, whose program differs significantly from the patient rooms, surgical facilities, labs, and auditoriums currently found within. Other major design work for this project will include the relocation of the building core to allow for improved residential layouts and views, the lowering of the top floor’s 6′ high window sills, and the removal of a third-floor pedestrian bridge that currently connects Polhemus Memorial to another building across Amity Street. The latter will include the restoration of original building detail from before the mid-20th century construction of the bridge.
Congratulations to the team!